About the Color of Money Contact Us



  
NATIONAL OVERVIEW
   Overall Contributions
   Top States
   Top Metropolitan Areas
   Top Zip Codes
   Size of Contributions

LOOK UP YOUR:
  
State
    Metro Area (Top 25 areas)
    Zip Code

Home
En Español
Public Campaign


"The results of the Color of Money report shouldn't surprise anyone, namely that the government you get is largely determined by the money you give.

There's something wrong when money counts more than votes when electing our representatives in Tallahassee and Washington. There's something wrong when public policy is guided by big donors instead of big dreams, and the middle and working classes aren't allowed on the same playing field."

Florida State Senator Frederica Wilson (D-Miami)


 




Several states have conducted their own analyses of how campaign contributions affect communities of color:

Citizen Action of New York. On January 13, 2004, Citizen Action released an analysis of federal campaign finance and census data for eight regions in New York State with local examples of how people of color are left out of the campaign finance system.

Democracy North Carolina. This 2003 analysis of the racial and ethnic backgrounds of North Carolina donors to the 2004 presidential campaign uses voter registration and other public records to determine the racial and ethnic makeup of North Carolina’s 2004 presidential donors. Democracy North Carolina found that 96 % of the North Carolina presidential donors are white and 67% are men. Click here to see press release.

Campaigns for People. This Texas-based public interest group has conducted an analysis of donors to Texas state campaigns in 1998 and 2000.

New Jersey Citizen Action.

New Jersey exemplifies the national trend of people of color being underrepresented in the campaign finance system, according to a 2004 report by New Jersey Citizen Action. While 32% of the state's residents are people of color, only 11% of the money contributed to federal elections comes from residents of zip codes where the majority is people of color. For more information, read the new report, The Color of Money in New Jersey 2003: Campaign Finance, Race and Civil Rights in the Garden State," by New Jersey Citizen Action and the Citizen Policy & Education Fund of NJ.


State-based Organizations with Color of Money Projects:

A number of states are participating in the relaunching of the new Color of Money Project.

AZ
Barb Lubin
barb@azclean.org
Arizona Clean Elections Institute
www.azclean.org

CA
Jim B. Clarke
jim@californiacleanmoney.org
California Clean Money Campaign
www.CaliforniaCleanMoney.org

CO
Bill Vandenberg
Colorado Progressive Coalition
coprogressive@aol.com

CT
Tom Swan
ccag@ccag.net
Connecticut Citizen Action Group
www.ccag.net

FL
Susie Caplowe
susiecaplowe@comcast.net
Florida Consumer Action Network
www.fcan.org

IA
Betty Ahrens
BettyAhren@IowaCAN.org
Iowa Citizen Action Network
www.iowacan.org

ID
Jim Hansen
uvijhansen@rmci.net
United Vision for Idaho
www.uvidaho.org

IL
Lynda DeLaforgue
info@citizenaction-il.org
Citizen Action IL
www.citizenaction-il.org

IN
Stefanie Miller
jackandstef@earthlink.net
Alliance for Democracy

KS
Bill Beachy
cckansas@aol.com
Kansas Alliance for Campaign Reform

MA
Joe O'Brien
joesoread@aol.com
Mass Voters for Clean Elections
www.massvoters.org

MD
Sean Dobson
Contact@ProgressiveMaryland.org
Progressive Maryland
www.progressivemaryland.org/

ME
Doug Clopp
dougmclf@maine.rr.com
Maine Citizen Leadership Fund

MI
Rich Robinson
rrobinson@mcfn.org
Michigan Campaign Finance Network
www.mcfn.org

MN
Beth Fraser
bfraser@mapa-mn.org
Minnesota Alliance for Progressive Action
www.mapa-mn.org

NC
Adam Sotak
adamsotak@democracy-nc.org
Democracy North Carolina
www.democracy-nc.org

NH
Abigail Abrash
aabrash@totalnethnh.net
New Hampshire Citizens Alliance
www.nhcitizensalliance.org

NJ
Steve Bonime
steve@njcitizenaction.org
NJ Citizen Action
www.njcitizenaction.org

NM
Max Bartlett
max@nmpace.org
Re-Visioning New Mexico
www.rvnm.org

NV
Paul Brown
planvegas@aol.com
Progressive Leadership Alliance of Nevada
www.planevada.org

NY
Jon Bartholomew
jbartholomew@citizenactionny.org
New York Citizen Action
www.citizenactionny.org

OR
Janice Thompson
miprap@oregonfollowthemoney.org
Money in Politics Research Action Project
www.oregonfollowthemoney.org

PA
Lauren Townsend
lauren2@erols.com
Citizens for Consumer Justice
www.ccjustice.org

SC
Brett Bursey
scpoint@mindspring.com
South Carolina Progressive Network
www.scpronet.org

TX
Fred Lewis
TX Campaign Finance Reform Project
flewis@sierra.onr.com

WI
Carilyn Castore
castore@wi-citizenaction.org
Wisconsin Citizen Action
www.wi-citizenaction.org

WV
Janet Fout
ohvec@ohvec.org
People's Election Reform Coalition/WV Citizen Action
www.ohvec.org

WY
Tom Throop
ttespc@wyoming.com
Equality State Policy Center
www.equalitystate.org

Public Campaign’s links:
http://www.publicampaign.org/websites/index.htm

About Us

|

News Releases

|

Color of Money Reports

|

Links

|

Home

 

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License. <!-- <rdf:RDF xmlns="http://web.resource.org/cc/" xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/" xmlns:rdf="http://www.w3.org/1999/02/22-rdf-syntax-ns#">